Welcome! A Guide for New Residents

During the steps of becoming a Florida resident, you will be given the opportunity to register to vote when getting a driver’s license or state issued photo identification.  You can also receive a voter’s registration application at any Lee County Public Library, Post Office, Election Office or download the form from www.lee.vote.  After completing the application, signing and submitting it to the Supervisor of Elections, you will receive your voter’s registration card in the mail. As of October 1, 2017, online registration is available at www.registertovoteflorida.gov. In order to vote, you must be registered 29 days before an upcoming election.

All registered voters are encouraged to obtain a Mail-in Ballot which allows time to examine the candidates and issues. No reason needs to be given to request a Mail-in Ballot, simply contact the Supervisor of Elections at 239.533-8683 or online at www.leevote .

Florida has a closed primary that does not allow a voter to cross party lines in selecting a choice from among candidates running for a particular office in the primary, unless there are no other candidates running in the general election. Changing political party affiliation requires updating a new voter registration application.

Lee County Offices

Lee County is governed by five members of the Board of County Commissioners who are elected for four-year staggered terms by the countywide electorate.  They represent designated districts even though voting is done at-large, meaning countywide.  www.leegov.com/BOCC.

The School Board for the District of Lee County sets policy for the public schools throughout the county and appoints the Superintendent of Schools.   The seven-person nonpartisan Board is elected to serve four-year terms.   Five members represent single member districts and are elected by voters from within that district.  Two members are elected at-large. www.leeschools.net.

Nonpartisan elections for four-year terms are held for the following countywide public offices:

Clerk of Courts – (responsible for the maintenance of all property, civil and criminal records, and auditing all county departments except the school district.)  www.leeflclerk.govoffice3.com

County Court Judges –  www.ca.cjis20.org 

Hospital Board www.leehealth.org/boardofdirectors/index.asp

Mosquito Boardwww.lcmcd.com

Property Appraiserwww.leepa.org

Supervisor of Elections –    www.lee.vote                 

Tax Collector www.leetc.com


            Lee County Sheriff is a partisan election held every four years – www.sheriffleefl.org


There are six cities within Lee County, each has non-partisan City Councils that are chosen every two years. Local election dates are posted on www.lee.vote

            City of Bonita Springs – www.cityofbonitasprings.org

            Cape Coral – www.capecoral.net      

            Village of Estero – www.estero-fl.gov  

            City of Fort Myers – www.cityftmyers.com 

            The Town of Fort Myers Beach –  www.fortmyersbeachfl.gov

             Sanibel- www.mysanibel.com                        


Lee County and neighboring Hendry, Glades, and Charlotte counties form the Twentieth Judicial Circuit.  Every four years voters in those counties elect:

State Attorneywww.sao.cjis20.org

 Public Defenderwww.pd.cjis20.org

 Circuit Court Judgeswww.ca.cjis20.org




The best way to get to know Lee County is by participating in a free program called, LeeGROWS. www.leegov.com/leegrows . It is a government resource and orientation workshop series, consisting of five one-day classes running consecutively on Wednesdays.